Comparisons of Intubated GA, Non-intubated GA and Intravenous Sedation

Oral Conscious Sedation Rules: Minimal Sedation  

        CA Oral Sedation Permit Required?                          MRD                    MRD+             MRD+N2O        MRD + second drug1  

Patient <13 years old

YES

YES

YES

YES

Patient 13 years or older

No

YES

No

YES

Dentist has an IVS or GA Permit or OCS Permit for Minors or is a Periodontist or has completed a GPR2

No

No

No

No

MRD: Maximum Recommended Dose given to unmonitored patient at home
MRD+: Maximum Recommended Dose plus 1/2 original dose (ADA Recommendations)
MRD of Halcion (triazolam) is 0.5mg
1Second drug does not include Nitrous Oxide/Oxygen

2If the qualification method (exempt from 25 hour course) is a periodontics, general residency, or other advanced education in a general dentistry program, the applicant must also have his or her educational institution complete the Certification of Oral Conscious Sedation Training (OCS-2) form.

Comparisons of Intubated GA, Non-intubated GA and Intravenous Sedation

Oral "Minimal Sedation" Protocol, Adult1   

                                                                                       Drug of Choice                                                                  Alternative        

Short procedure (1-2 hrs)

Triazolam (Halcion) 0.25 mg Zolpidem (Ambien) 5 mg Zaleplon (Sonata) 5 mg

Intermediate procedure (1/2 day)

Apprazolam (Xanax) 0.5 mg    

Long procedure (full day)

Lorazepam (Ativan) 2 mg    

Permit not required in California as long as only one medication is given (not counting Nitrous/Oxygen) at a dose not to exceed the
maximum single recommended dose to an unmonitored patient at home. You must know the contraindications and drug interactions
of any medication you give.

1As per Stan Malamed, DDS USC School of Dentistry

No warranty or guarantee as to accuracy of data as laws change. Visit the Dental Board of California to read the latest versions of the law.